Women's Soccer Colleges Association of Ireland

Leinster Win Interprovincials 2009

Leinster Win Interprovincials 2009

04 April 2009

Over 70 of very best of players from Connaught, Leinster, Munster and Ulster battled it out for Interprovincial Honours over the weekend.

Hosted by University of Limerick, supporters who attended the tournament held over Friday 3rd and Saturday the 4th were treated to a superb display of Women's College Soccer.

After 2 rounds very little separated the teams. Munster and Connaught on top, level on points with only a single goal difference giving Munster the slightest of advantages into their final game against Ulster. Leinster followed closely behind on 3 points, a comprehensive 6-0 defeat over Ulster in the Saturday morning game

All was to play for in the final game.  It was Ulster that provided a stark awakening for the Munster team, scoring in the 5th minute to take a 1-0 lead.  Munster responded well and at half time it was all square 1-1.  In the Leinster v Connaught game it was a stonger Leinster side that found themselves 1-0 up at half time. Early in the second half, Leinster found themselves 2-0 up from the penalty spot. 3-0 by the final whistle.

In the Ulster v Munster game the drama was only just beginning. Ulster scoring from a well worked move up the left wing giving them a 2-1 lead. Munsters response was swift and well executed, 2 goals within 5 minutes. They 3-2 lead meant they were back on top of the Interprovincial table and on their way to a tournament win. 

Leinster captain Aine O Gorman accepted the plate on behalf of the Leinster team and commended all the players from the four teams for their participation in such a competitive tournament.

Photos coming soon!

Interprovincial Table 2008/2009
Team Pl W L D GF GA GD Pts
Leinster 3 2 1 0 10 4 +6 6
Munster 3 1 1 1 8 6 +2 4
Connaught 3 1 1 1 5 6 -1 4
Ulster 3 1 2 0 6 13 -7 3


Interprovincial Results
Round Fixture

Munster 4 V 1 Leinster

Connaught 4 V 2 Ulster


Leinster 6 V 0 Ulster

Connaught 1 V 1 Munster


Ulster 4 V 3 Munster

Connaught 0 V 3 Leinster


Squad Lists 2008/2009
Connaught Squad   Leinster Squad
Tina Hughes
IT Sligo
Noelle Gormley
IT Sligo
Ruth Finlas
Athlone IT
Aisling Egan
Athlone IT
Rachel King
Patricia Coyle
IT Sligo
Deirdre Connell
Méabh De Burca
Emma Mullin
IT Sligo
Annie Lynsky
IT Sligo
Dee Mannion
Gillian Joyce
Orna O Dowd
Athlone IT
Aine Mc Clean
Sarah Mc Moreland
IT Sligo
Marian Murray
Athlone IT
Emma Treanor
Athlone IT
Elaine O Reilly
IT Sligo



Lynn Bradley (Sallynoggin)
Bronagh Sheridan (DCU)
Katie Walsh (DCU)
Emma Dunne (DCU)
Patrice Kearney (UCD)
Aine O'Gorman (Sallynoggin)
Stephanie Roche (Sallynoggin)
Samantha Connolly (Sallynoggin)
Amy O'Connor (Dublin IT)

Sarah Ann Gregory (Dublin IT)
Aine Burke (Trinity College Dublin)

Sarah McGrath (Trinity College Dublin)

Mary Waldron (UCD)
Zoe Doherty (DCU)
Carla Moran (DCU)
Molly Whiteman (Trinity)

Munster Squad   Ulster Squad
Amy Martin - UCC
Ciara Meehan - CSN
Emer Flatley - UL
Siobhan O'Sullivan (v-capt.) - UL
Angela O'Mahony - IT Tralee
Kathleen O'Brien - CSN
Alison Roche - UCC
Lorna O'Connell - UL
Mary Barrett - Mary I
Lynn Marie Grant (capt.) - WIT
Amanda Parkes - CSN
Ruth Fahy - UL
Niamh Mulcahy - UL
Sarah Considine - UL
Stacey Paul - CSN
Lynsey McKey - UL
Dee Cotter - CSN
Linda Douglas - UCC
  Emma Kellly UUJ
Martine Power UUJ
Tiarna McKenna UUJ
Niamh McGlynn UUJ
Amy McAllister UUJ
Charlene Kelly UUJ
Caina Healey UUJ
Sarah Venney UUJ
Claire Timoney UUJ
Aoife McDonnel UUJ
Lynne McFredrick UUJ
Nicola Carlin Belfast Met
Claire Carson Belfast Met
Nadene Caldwell Belfast Met
Demi Vance Belfast Met
Racheal Cromie Belfast Met
Gemma Begley Queens
Emma Mulherne Queens
« Go Back

Sponsored By